Books,  Uncategorized

Book Review: Her Last Breath by Charlie Gallagher

Escape

Name: Her Last Breath by Charlie Gallagher
Date Published: July 24, 2018
Genre: Thriller, Murder Mystery
Goodreads Rating: 4.63/5 Stars
How I acquired it: I received an eRC from the author via Books n All Book Promotions in exchange for an honest review. This in no way influenced my opinion below.

Goodreads Summary

Henry Roberts is a serial killer. He has a type — young, blonde, attractive women. He is three years into a life sentence.

Two of his victims were never found.

Now, Henry Roberts is dying. He wants to make a deal. Move him to a secure unit by the sea and he will tell the police where the other victims’ remains are.

The offer is accepted and Detective George Elms travels to the force who led the original investigation. He is the messenger. He finds a police force and a community still shattered. As he reviews the old case notes he also learns something else. Henry Roberts didn’t work alone.

A woman goes missing. She fits the profile of the other victims. The circumstances of her disappearance do too — she never made it from her commuter train to her car.

Then a second woman goes missing. George is convinced they are linked. Henry Roberts told him on his prison visit that two is better because: you can make the other one watch.

Time is running out for George. He is convinced that Henry Roberts knows who he should be chasing, but will he help before he takes his last breath? Or the women take theirs?

Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Damien Boyd, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.

Writing: ★★★★★
Plot: ★★★★
Romance:
Reading Level: ★★★★
Ending: ★★★★★

My Overall Rating: ★★★★ 1/2 

My Review:

***** Before I give my review I want to include a “trigger warning”. This book contains a graphic depiction of torture. I don’t read a lot of murder mystery novels so I’m not sure if this is normal however, I had a really hard time getting through those sections of the book.

After reading this book I cannot wait to read another book by Charlie Gallagher! I was on the edge of my seat the entire time I was reading it. As I mentioned above I wasn’t sure I would be able to finish the book because I really can’t handle any kind of torture scenes. Instead of adding it to my DNF I decided to skim those paragraphs after the first one and it made the book much more enjoyable for me. There were big plot twists that I did not see coming (even after I read the back of the book) and they really brought the whole book together.

The plot of this book had so much potential and Gallagher did not disappoint! George Elms is a great detective. He knows how to do his job and he knows how to get things done. It’s not a surprise to him why he was sent to see Henry Roberts (his boss is busy and he’s just there to take his place). During the initial investigation Henry wouldn’t talk to anyone so when George walks away having a full conversation with the guy it takes everyone by surprise. Henry has some pretty steep demands from George but he is also willing to give up information he’s been keeping for over 3 years. When George goes to the police office where it all started he can see they never fully recovered. He can’t blame them. There are some things that can never be unseen. Even though I read the synopsis of the book I still surprised to read Henry hadn’t been working alone. I think this gave a completely new dimension of the book and definitely had me reading straight through. Did they find the accomplice before the other women took their last breath?

There really wasn’t a romance aspect to this book, which was definitely ok with me (I know shocking!). I think it would have added too much and wouldn’t have fit into the seriousness of the rest of the book.

If you haven’t caught on already, this book is very dark. It wasn’t an easy read by any means but it was still a great murder mystery. It grabbed me from the very beginning and it will stick with me for a very long time.

The ending of this book was fantastic! I will admit I wasn’t sure I was going to make it because of the graphic nature of the torture scenes but I wanted to know if George found the other girls and what happened with Henry. I won’t spoil the ending but I really enjoyed the twist at the end and it had me rethinking the whole book.

I would definitely recommend this book to any murder mystery fan. However, if you can’t stomach torture scenes I would suggest skimming those paragraphs.

Check out the other stops on this book tour!

unnamed

1 Shares

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: