Books

May’s Monthly Book Wrap-Up

So apparently I was on a J.L. Weil kick this month. I read 13 of her books and still couldn’t get enough. There wasn’t a book I absolutely hated this month (I’d call that a win!) and there were several I would highly recommend. There was one series I would definitely put under possible plagiarism and those of us in the book/writing/reviewing/editing world know you NEVER say the P word. I’ll let you guys decide but for now these are the books I read in May. I hope you find some to add to your “must read” list.

Supernatural Academy Series by Sophie Castle

A Witch Meets A Vampire
A Witch Against The Vampire
A Witch’s Immunity

A hidden witch heritage. A supernatural school shrouded in mystery. Unseen danger around every corner. Fans of The Vampire Diaries, Twilight, and A Shade of Vampire will be blown away by Supernatural Academy… 

When 16-year-old Bethany learns she’s a witch, she jumps at the chance to attend Dusk Academy for Supernatural Studies where she’ll study alongside other witches and vampires. Though the two races have had a tentative truce for the past decade, she quickly learns old animosity still lives strong on campus. 

Vampire James feels an immediate spark with Bethany, but when he learns she’s the subject of ridicule and attacks for her friendship with him, he sets out to ensure she’s protected. 

Neither is prepared for the secrets Dusk Academy holds. An incomplete history, mysterious figures, and a dark presence occupying the school all culminate in a supernatural showdown that requires Bethany to tap into her new-found powers. 

Will it be enough to save her new friends…and herself? Or will the dark forces haunting the shadows of the Academy prevail?

 

My Review

This was the first book I’ve read by Sophie Castle and I was pleasantly surprised. Witch meets vampire isn’t necessarily “new” but Castle brought a new aspect to the story. I loved the academy and the dynamic between the witches and vampires. Bethany and James’ relationship felt a little rushed. They are in high school but they knew after a month (?) they wanted to be together forever. That being said I do really enjoy reading about their relationship. I can’t wait to see what the rest of the series has in store. 

Everything I thought I knew about the world has been tossed out the window. From the moment I open my eyes, the world I remember ceases to exist, and in its place is a post-apocalyptic realm filled with unimaginable dangers. Oh, and one very smoking hot guy with an uncanny ability to make me want to kiss him and hit at the same time. Dash Darhk is everything my parents would hate. 

Not that it matters. They’re nowhere to be found. 

Alone in this new world destroyed by a toxic mist, I’m determined to find my family, but the land isn’t the only thing altered, but the inhabitants as well…including me.

 

My Review

Absolutely loved this world! It was so interesting to me and I wish I could keep reading about it. She wakes up to find out the world is nothing like she remembers. Dash and Charlotte kind of have a love-hate relationship at the beginning and their banter definitely made this series. It wasn’t insta-love and they weren’t “shy” around each other. I loved the drama and while each book connected, each one was extremely interesting on it’s own. I loved this series and you won’t be sorry you picked it up!

Nine Tails Series by J.L. Weil

First Shift
Storm Shift
Flame Shift
Time Shift

Karina Lang has enough on her mind dealing with college applications, her mother’s ailing health, and busting her butt after school at the café she works at. Forget about boys. Who has the time? The last thing she needs in her busy schedule is to be mugged by a band of thugs. 

Her destiny is more important than she could ever imagine. 

Out of the shadows, a mysterious stranger emerges—her rescuer. Coincidence? Not for him. Devyn St. Cyr reveals a startling truth about Karina, and she must befriend him to gain the answers she needs. However, uncovering the secret of her heritage threatens more than just her worldview, but also her life. Regardless of her feelings for the dreamy, steamy Devyn, Karina finds herself on unsure footing with him and a hot target for every ambitious otherworldly creature. 

Falling in love won’t keep her alive. 

As she struggles with her rare gift, Devyn supports her, protects her, and challenges her. But in order for Karina to survive, she must do what no other Kitsune in a century has accomplished: acquire nine tails.

 

My Review

This series was a little lacking to me. I really enjoy the characters and the premise; however, all 4 books I’ve read seem a bit dull. They don’t move as fast as I would like. It’s the typical, girl doesn’t know she’s special with powers, boy brakes the news, boy protects girl, girl falls in love with boy, boy and girl try and save the world. I want to love this series, and maybe it will get better with the next books (I do plan on finishing the series), but for now there are other J.L. Weil books I would rather read.

The Raven Series (Finished) by J.L. Weil

White Raven
Black Crow
Soul Symmetry

It only took one heartbeat to change Piper’s life–one chilling phone call in the middle of the night. 

Piper is a Banshee…but she doesn’t know it until she spends the summer with a grandma she’s never met. A dark past follows Piper, and her only salvation might be the one person she has sworn to avoid. Zane Hunter. Six feet of swoon inducing looks, he is the type of guy who leaves a string of broken hearts in his wake. 

 

My Review

Loved this series! Not my favorite J.L. Weil series (that’s why it gets 4 stars instead of 5), but it was still incredibly fun to read. I think I read all 3 books in less than 36 hours. I loved the relationship between Piper and Zane, although Zane could be a prick at times. The side characters were just as good/developed and helped move the books along. This series offered many twists and turns and kept me on my toes. I wish I could read more, but the ending was fantastic. 

Divisa Series (Finished) by J.L. Weil

Saving Angel
Hunting Angel
Chasing Angel
Loving Angel
Redeeming Angel

Angel Morgan was positive her life ended the day she moved to the ho-dunk town of Spring Valley, Illinois. The internet service was splotchy, there was nothing but miles of wheat fields, and her house was older than dirt. 

Everything was looking gloomy, until she got an eyeful of her new neighbor. There was only one way to describe him—hot as hell. With his sinful dark looks, unusually silver eyes, and kissable lips, there was something more about Chase Winters than meets the eye. 

Angel was about to find out how very different Spring Valley was. 

 

My Review

Ok I’m having a hard time reviewing this series. Jennifer L. Armentrout wrote the Lux series in 2012 and J.L. Weil wrote this series in 2017. They are basically the exact same except Lux deals with Angels and Divisa deals with demons. I absolutely loved The Lux series and couldn’t put it down. Seeing as they were the same, I did enjoy this book but I almost felt guilty reading something I’ve already read by a different author. 

If I’m going to review it based on content alone I absolutely loved it. The relationship between Angel and Chase was so emotional because one minute they are yelling at each other and the next they can’t keep their hands off each other. The side characters were well developed and the plot was interesting. 

If I’m going to review the whole thing, I can’t give it more than 1 star because I’ve already read it and it’s not unique. It was also very poorly edited. I ended up having to reread many paragraphs/sentences because I didn’t know what was being said.

 

The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he'd done something terrible?

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage.

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled step-daughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves?

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price.

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty, and Diane Chamberlain.

My Review

I really enjoyed this book. It is completely different from what I normally read (YA, Dystopian, etc.) so I was a little nervous to give it a try but I’m so glad I did. There were technically 2 main characters, Maggie and Lara, but every character played a role in the outcome of the book. The only major problem I have with the book is I don’t think the summary on the back describes it accurately. “Would you risk everything for the man you loved?” No one is really risking anything, the 2 women are trying to find a way to keep moving knowing an extremely big secret. I would definitely recommend this book as a book-club book.

Harley Merlin and the Challenge of Chaos (#8) by Bella Forrest

This is the 8th book in this series. I don’t want to spoil anything so I’m going to put the summary of the first book here instead.

When a rogue 19-year-old witch is recruited to help guard an ancient magical Bestiary, a breath-stealing journey begins…

Being an empath has its advantages. 

Harley Merlin can sense people’s emotions, among other things. It’s how she snagged her first job pinpointing cheaters at a casino.

But she has no clue where she got these freakish powers because she spent her childhood jumping from home to home in the foster system, and her father left her with nothing more than a cryptic note.

Then she crosses paths with a terrifyingly real monster. Which is when a mysterious and annoyingly arrogant young warlock named Wade Crowley steps in, introducing her to a hidden world of beasts, magicals, and covens riddled with secrets—as well as clues about her murky past.

Whether she likes it or not, this new world is where she belongs. But after a disturbing twist of events, Harley quickly realizes that her past is darker than she could ever have imagined.

And that someone in the coven is out for her blood.

With the help of Wade and her new friends, she must figure out who the traitor is and why they’re targeting her… Before the human and magical worlds dangerously collide.

My Review

This was probably my least favorite book in the series this far. These books are in Harley’s POV and one other character (different for each book). This book was also in Katherine’s POV and while you would think it would be interesting to hear from the villain’s side, her chapters were very repetitive. I get it, she wants to take over the world. Now move on. I’m also getting tired of Harley’s constant failure. This series probably could have been finished in 4 books instead of 9. I definitely want to find out how it ends, so I will be reading the next book but I don’t know if I would recommend this series overall.

0 Shares
%d bloggers like this: