Books

Book Club: The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher

I’ve decided to add something new to my blog. I don’t belong to a book club (I read too many books #noidonthaveaproblem) but I know several people who are and they are always looking for new books and question help. So, I’m going to pick one book I’ve read every month and turn it into a book club post. I hope you enjoy it!

This month was The Silent Wife. I got this book as a Christmas present last year (as in 2017) and I have no idea why I didn’t read it sooner. It’s so different from what I usually read and I’ll admit I have a hard time changing things up. That being said I really enjoyed it! However, I wish there was someone I could talk to about it. I have so many questions!!!

The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher

Would you risk everything for the man you loved? Even if you knew he'd done something terrible?

Lara’s life looks perfect on the surface. Gorgeous doting husband Massimo, sweet little son Sandro and the perfect home. Lara knows something about Massimo. Something she can’t tell anyone else or everything Massimo has worked so hard for will be destroyed: his job, their reputation, their son. This secret is keeping Lara a prisoner in her marriage. 

Maggie is married to Massimo’s brother Nico and lives with him and her troubled step-daughter. She knows all of Nico’s darkest secrets – or so she thinks. Then one day she discovers a letter in the attic which reveals a shocking secret about Nico’s first wife Caitlin. 

Will Maggie set the record straight or keep silent to protect those she loves? 

For a family held together by lies, the truth will come at a devastating price. 

A heart-wrenching, emotionally gripping read for fans of Amanda Prowse, Liane Moriarty, and Diane Chamberlain.

Questions (SPOILERS)

1.   What was your initial reaction to the book? Did the back summary adequately describe the book?  Were you expecting something different?

2.     Do you think Maggie should have told Nico the truth about the gold box right away? What would you have done?

3.     Anna is pretty intense at times. How would you handle a mother-in-law like her?

4.     Francesca was incredibly rude! Do you think Nico was too soft with her? Can you sympathize with her? How would you have handled her?

a.     What was your reaction to her destroying Maggie’s sewing room?

5.     Of all the memories Lara’s father remembered, why do you think he remembered Caitlyn and Massimo’s affair?

6.     Were you surprised about Dawn’s revelation? If you were Lara would you have wanted Ben and Sandro to meet?

7.     Describe your feelings about Maggie and Lara’s relationship. Do you think they should have been friends initially?

Next Book

Leaving Time by Jodi Picoult

For more than a decade, Jenna Metcalf has never stopped thinking about her mother, Alice, who mysteriously disappeared in the wake of a tragic accident. Refusing to believe she was abandoned, Jenna searches for her mother regularly online and pores over the pages of Alice’s old journals. A scientist who studied grief among elephants, Alice wrote mostly of her research among the animals she loved, yet Jenna hopes the entries will provide a clue to her mother’s whereabouts.

As Jenna’s memories dovetail with the events in her mother’s journals, the story races to a mesmerizing finish.

Have you read The Silent Wife by Kerry Fisher? Does it sound interesting to you? What are some of your favorite book-club books?    

0 Shares
%d bloggers like this: